07 August 2015


    Vodacom Journalist of the Year 2015

    Entries are open for the Vodacom Journalist of the Year 2015 competition. Get your entries in before the closing date on 17 August!

    The annual Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards shines the spotlight on South Africa’s newsmakers, celebrating the people who bring us breaking news, in-depth investigative journalism, photographic reporting that captures the soul of a story – and everything in between. 

    Maya Makanjee, Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs at Vodacom said: 'The past year has been filled with momentous news events that have required journalists to file stories quickly over a wide range of media platforms. While speed and connectivity with a public eager for information is important, equally important are accuracy, journalistic integrity, and in-depth coverage of the events that will shape South Africa’s future.

    For Vodacom there is synergy between keeping people connected through our network and the work that journalists do in tirelessly bringing news to readers, listeners, and increasingly online followers stories. From shifts in politics, court cases that have attracted international attention, and stories about transformation; the media have played a vital role in keeping us informed about the world around us.'

    The panel of judges is made up of a few of South Africa’s veteran journalists including Mary Papayya, Elna Rossouw, Collin Nxumalo, Arthur Goldstuck, Ryland Fisher, Mathata Tsedu, Patricia McCracken and Megan Rusi.

    Papayya said, 'We have consistently seen an exceptionally high standard of journalism represented by entries to the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards, and we trust that this year standards will be as high. We also encourage journalists to enter their work, and for editors to encourage their journalists to do so. We are aware that there is some wonderful work that has been produced over the past year and we expect the judges to have their work cut out for them as they evaluate the entries.'


    Journalists must enter their best achievements in the following categories for work published in 2014/2015:

    • Television General News
    • Television Feature
    • Print General News
    • Print Feature
    • Radio General News
    • Radio Feature
    • Financial/Economic News
    • Sport
    • CSI/Sustainability
    • Social Media
    • Photography

    Editors may also nominate candidates for The Editor’s Choice Award and the judging panel will vote on the Lifetime Achiever’s Award, which recognises the lifetime contribution made by a single individual to journalism and media in South Africa.


    The overall winner of the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards will receive R100 000, national category winners will each receive R10 000 and regional category winners R5 000. 

    Find out more

    Entries are open from 17 July to 17 August. Find out more and enter onlineon the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards website.