For COVID-19 updates, visit the official government website for free.

Vodacom Now!

Regional winners for the Gauteng Province were announced on 14 October at a function at the Protea Fire & Ice Hotel, Melrose Arch, in Johannesburg.

Each of the regional winners took home R5 000 and will travel to Johannesburg for the national finals in November.

Maya Makanjee, Chief Officer for Corporate Affairs at Vodacom Group, said: 'We’d like to congratulate all the winners in the Central region for thought-provoking and excellent journalism. We look forward to meeting you at the national finals, where we will be celebrating excellence in journalism in South Africa.'

The winners of the 2015 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Regional Awards for the Gauteng Province are:

2015 CSI/Sustainability winners

Phillip de Wet, Sipho Kings, Sarah Wild, Rapula Moatshe. Mail & Guardian, SA’s Great Thirst Has Begun

2015 Financial/Economic winners

Lionel Faull, Vinayak Bhardwaj, Matuma Letsoalo, Sam Sole, and Stefaans Brummer. Mail & Guardian, Transnet Tender Boss’ R50-bn

2015 Online winners

Laura Lopez Gonzalez. Health-e News, Thousands Face Disability



Sebabatso Mosamo. Mail & Guardian Multimedia, Still No Furniture at Eastern Cape Schools

2015 Photography winner

James Oatway. Sunday Times, The Killing of Emmanuel Sithole

2015 Print Feature winner

Marida Fitzpatrick. Beeld. Series of Interviews, particularly with Jani Allan and Willem Boshoff (Body of Work)

The Judges commended Mia Malan of Mail & Guardian for her body of work, especially for her reporting on medical matters

2015 Print News winner

Beauregard Tromp. Sunday Times, The Killing of Emmanuel Sithole

The Judges commended Marida Fitzpatrick of Beeld for her body of work, especially her reporting on the Oscar Pistorius verdict

2015 Radio Feature winner

Noma Bolani. AM Live, SABC Radio News. The Murder of Toddler Taegrin Morris

2015 Radio News winner

Vumani Mkhize. EWN, Bafana Bafana Captain Murdered

2015 Sport winner

Sameer Naik. Saturday Star, The Highs and Lows of SA Sport (Body of Work)

2015 Television Feature winner

Joy Summers. Carte Blanche, Bobroff’s Fall From Grace

The Judges commended Sophia Phirippides of Modern Times for her body of work, especially her reporting on Finding Leigh

2015 Television News winners

Malungelo Booi, Jacques Broodryk, Linge Ndabambi, and Joel Matlala. eNews Channel Africa. The Killing of Josias Sithole

2015 Editor’s Choice winner

Yusuf Omar of eNCA

Suggested Posts

Beware of fraudulent employment offers & listings

Vodacom | 14th Aug 20

View more
Don’t believe everything you see. This old adage no less applies to online advertisements, listings or postings regarding employment offers, vacancies and internships.
Vodacom 533 Followers

Butterflies take flight behind the mask of the 2020 Vodacom Durban July

Vodacom | 10th Jul 20

View more
The new look of the Vodacom Durban July. 
Vodacom 533 Followers

Keeping you connected

Vodacom | 30th Mar 20

View more
In response to COVID-19 and the upcoming lockdown, we would like to highlight these important numbers for all South Africans.
Vodacom 533 Followers