For COVID-19 updates, visit the official government website for free.

Vodacom Now!

Celebrating journalistic excellence, the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards honour South Africa's top reporters.

This year, 832 entries were received in the 12 categories: CSI/Sustainability, Editor’s Choice, Financial/Economic, Online, Photography, Print Feature, Print News, Radio Feature, Radio News, Sport, Television Feature, and Television News. There were 168 entries from the Western Province.

Each of the regional winners took home R5 000 and will travel to Johannesburg for the national finals in November. The regional winners for the Western Province were announced on 9 October, 2015.

'We’d like to congratulate all the winners in the Western region for thought-provoking and excellent journalism. We look forward to meeting you at the national finals, where we will be celebrating excellence in journalism in South Africa,' said Makanjee.

Western Province winners

2015 CSI/Sustainability winner

Aletta Gardner. Eyewitness News, Redefining the Boer and Rock Climbers Boost Cederberg Kids (Body of Work)

2015 Financial/Economic winner

Claire Bisseker. Financial Mail, SA’s Friday the 13th

2015 Online winner

Kim Harrisberg. Code4SA for News24, Living on the edge

The Judges commended Thomas Holder of EWN for his body of work

2015 Photography winner

Cindy Waxa. Cape Argus, Marikana and Lwandle Evictions (Body of Work)

2015 Print Feature winner

Maygene Prins. Die Burger, A Man Called Violence (Body of Work)

2015 Print News winner

Jana Breytenbach. Die Burger, Zephany Nurse’s Story

The Judges commended Carlo Petersen of Cape Times for his body of work, especially his report on Rhodes Lifted Away.

2015 Radio Feature winner

Sisanda Nkoala. SABC Radio News. Report on Missing Children and Rhodes Must Fall (Body of Work)

2015 Radio News winners

Rahima Essop and Gaye Davis. EWN, A Sad Day for Democracy

2015 Sport winner

Angus Powers. The Red Bulletin, Outstanding Craftsmanship And Use of Language in Telling Stories (Body of Work) 

2015 Television Feature winner

Annika Larsen. eNCA, Right to Die

2015 Television News winner

Philip Owira. eNCA, Rhodes Must Fall

2015Editor’s Choice winner

Francesca Villette of the Cape Times

Suggested Posts

Beware of fraudulent employment offers & listings

Vodacom | 14th Aug 20

View more
Don’t believe everything you see. This old adage no less applies to online advertisements, listings or postings regarding employment offers, vacancies and internships.
Vodacom 531 Followers

Butterflies take flight behind the mask of the 2020 Vodacom Durban July

Vodacom | 10th Jul 20

View more
The new look of the Vodacom Durban July. 
Vodacom 531 Followers

Keeping you connected

Vodacom | 30th Mar 20

View more
In response to COVID-19 and the upcoming lockdown, we would like to highlight these important numbers for all South Africans.
Vodacom 531 Followers